RIPEC’s 70th Annual Meeting

Rhode Island Public Expenditures Council


RIPEC's 70th Annual Meeting

PROVIDENCE R.I. (November 2013) – The Rhode Island Public Expenditure Council held its 70th Annual Meeting on Monday November 18, 2013 at the Rhode Island Convention Center.  David Gergen of the Harvard Kennedy School and CNN delivered the keynote address on public leadership.  Attendees also heard remarks from Lt. Governor Elizabeth Roberts, Senate President M Teresa Paiva Weed and Speaker Gordon Fox.

As part of the evening’s events, RIPEC honored this year’s public service award winners, Peter A. DeAngelis, Jr., Manager, town of Barrington and Peter M. Marino, Director of the Rhode Island Office of Management and Budget.  Paula Twidale, Chair of the Public Service Award Selection Committee said, “This year’s nominees are true examples of what it means to work in public service.  We are proud to be able to honor them as a part of this year’s annual meeting.”

The Board of Directors and Trustees also approved the organization’s operating program for the next two years.  The program will focus on four key areas: Rhode Island’s business climate; education and workforce development; transportation and infrastructure; and state and local fiscal policy. The full operating program is available here.

Council officers, directors and trustees were also elected at the evening’s event:

Officer Elections: Robert A DiMuccio, President and CEO of Amica, was re-elected as RIPEC’s President; James H. Hahn, Partner, Partridge Snow & Hahn LLP, was re-elected Secretary; and Sean Lynch, Office Managing Partner – Providence, Ernst & Young was re-elected Treasurer.

Directors Re-elected: Timothy J. Babineau, MD, President & Chief Executive Officer, Lifespan; Stephen J. Carlotti,, Partner, Hinkley Allen & Snyder LLP; Michael DiBiase, Senior Vice President—Government Relations and Public Policy, Fidelity Investments; Robert A. DiMuccio, President and CEO, Amica; Jonathan D. Fain, President and CEO, Teknor Apex Company; Christopher D. Graham, Partner, Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP; James H. Hahn, Partner, Partridge Snow & Hahn LLP; Timothy F. Horan, President—Rhode Island/New Hampshire, National Grid; Rob Masson, CFO—Seapower Capability Systems, Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems; Shivan S. Subramaniam, Chairman & CEO, FM Global; and Deborah M. Thomas, CFO, Hasbro.

New Trustees: John P. Kennedy, Senior Vice President—Tax, CVS Caremark Corporation; and Kevin P. Tracy, Senior Vice President—Market Executive Business Banking, Global Commercial Banking, Bank of America, N.A.